Relentless Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/ Tue, 24 Apr 2018 14:50:52 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Tue, Apr 24, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-24-2018.html <p>AM - 5 Parkway.&nbsp; Morning run with Twix.&nbsp; Usual Tuesday tiredness is dominating my life.&nbsp; Weights and abs.&nbsp; (Ravenna 134.75)</p> Tue, 24 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 23, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-23-2018.html <p>AM - Twix/Pioneer Parkway. Short run with Twix and then early morning long run with the team. Pace was solid and weather was great... makes for a good morning. Abs. (Peg purple 114)</p> Mon, 23 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 21, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-21-2018.html <p>AM - 6 Parkway. Twix and I got a nice cool morning run in on the Parkway. (Peg oly 488.25)</p> Sat, 21 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 20, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-20-2018.html <p>AM - 8.75 Parkway/AC. &nbsp;Cool and rainy this morning. With Twix and then the team. Good yoga session and then abs. (Peg green 328.75)</p> Fri, 20 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 19, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-19-2018.html <p>AM - 3 Twix. Run with Twix. Then abs and weights.&nbsp;</p> <p>afternoon - 6 Middleton. Nice to get out with the team in an afternoon run.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 19 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 18, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-18-2018.html <p>AM - 8.75 Parkway/AC. With Twix and then the team. Abs.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 18 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 17, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-17-2018.html <p>AM - 3.5 Twix.&nbsp; Tough waking up this morning.&nbsp; Really tough.&nbsp; Did manage to get a short run in with the dog before weights and abs.&nbsp; (Peg Black33 527.5)</p> Tue, 17 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 16, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-16-2018.html <p>AM - 11 Twix/River Run.&nbsp; Just under 2 with Twix and then practice.&nbsp; Had a good tempo session on the River Trail.&nbsp; Had to get a little extra tempo when after the hills one of the kids fainted.&nbsp; Hurried back to the school and drove down to pick him up.&nbsp; He is feeling fine now.&nbsp; Abs.&nbsp; (Peg purple 100.75)</p> Mon, 16 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 14, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-14-2018.html <p>AM - 4 Twix.&nbsp; Just a short run with Twix this morning before leaving to the meet.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Sat, 14 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 13, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-13-2018.html <p>AM - 8.75 Twix/AC.&nbsp; A bit with Twix and then practice.&nbsp; Followed with a nice batch of yoga and abs.&nbsp; (Boston 364.5)</p> Fri, 13 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 12, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-12-2018.html <p>AM - 5 Twix.&nbsp; Very windy and warm run around the 5 mile version of Twix&#39;s loop.&nbsp; She did not like running into the wind.&nbsp; I was just very flat for the whole run.&nbsp; Weights and abs after.&nbsp; Leg felt good for two days in a row.&nbsp; (Peg Purple 89.75)</p> Thu, 12 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 11, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-11-2018.html <p>AM - 8.75 Parkway/AC.&nbsp; Good run with Twix and then the team.&nbsp; Leg felt good; just the usual achilles pains.&nbsp; Abs after.&nbsp; (Ravenna 129.75)</p> Wed, 11 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 10, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-10-2018.html <p>AM - 25 min walk with Twix, weights and abs.&nbsp; Decided to rest the leg today after pushing on it yesterday.&nbsp; There is a little pain in it, so might as well try and bring it back right.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>afternoon - ran the mile at the Panther Relays with Elin.&nbsp; Right at 8:00 - not bad for a 7 year old.&nbsp; She really pushed herself and had quite the kick at the end.&nbsp; It was a lot of fun.</p> Tue, 10 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 09, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-09-2018.html <p>AM - 10.5 River Run.&nbsp; Walked a little with Twix before practice.&nbsp; Ran with the boys.&nbsp; Sat out the hills.&nbsp; Tendonitis felt pretty good until the last 20 minutes or so.&nbsp; Hopefully I didn&#39;t set it back too much and can run a little tomorrow morning.&nbsp; Abs after.&nbsp; (Peg Purple 84.75)</p> Mon, 09 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 07, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-07-2018.html <p>Another zero on the run.&nbsp; Walked with the dog before the meet.&nbsp; Leg is seeing some progress.</p> Sat, 07 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 06, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-06-2018.html <p>AM - 20 min walk with Twix.&nbsp; Followed that with abs and yoga.&nbsp; Nothing really exciting here... leg is still hurting, but I think there is some progress.&nbsp; My level of desire is fairly low.&nbsp; I had a tough time letting go of stupid thoughts that are just pestering me during yoga.&nbsp; Then at the end, I finally let my mind release and basically was teetering between awake and asleep.</p> Fri, 06 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 05, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-05-2018.html <p>AM - So the first of some zeros for the rest of the week.&nbsp; Not that fun.&nbsp; But sometimes you have to heal up.&nbsp; Walked for 20 minutes with Twix and then came to practice and did weights and abs.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Thu, 05 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 04, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-04-2018.html <p>AM - 7.75 Twix/AC.&nbsp; I think this will be my last run for the week.&nbsp; Maybe the time off and continued icing will get some real progress with the tendonitis.&nbsp; Abs after.&nbsp; (Ravenna 121)</p> Wed, 04 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 03, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-03-2018.html <p>AM - 5 Parkway.&nbsp; Twix and I headed out as usual.&nbsp; It is probably getting time to rest up the leg and get it better.&nbsp; Bummed about that.&nbsp; Weights and abs after.&nbsp; (Boston 355.75)</p> <p>afternoon - 6 GS Desert.&nbsp; Planned on running, and then after the morning hurt so bad, I changed my mind.&nbsp; But then all the event coaches were at practice, so I changed my mind back.&nbsp; Shouldn&#39;t have.&nbsp; Almost every step was very painful&nbsp; Ran slow and flipped with an earlier crowd.&nbsp; (Peg green 320)</p> Tue, 03 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 02, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-02-2018.html <p>morning - 12.5 Fields. Good long run with the team. Sure enjoy the kids that really just dig deep and push; even if it is just one or two more times than they bought possible. That is my real joy of coaching. We threw in our usual progressive tempo sections and I felt it. First time in quite awhile that I&rsquo;ve run with upper Varsity boys. As always, it is going to be tough to see those seniors move on. But you know what, that is another great joy of coaching, knowing that they are going to go on to do amazing things. (Peg purple 74.25)</p> Mon, 02 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 31, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-31-2018.html <p>AM - 7 ND. &nbsp;Easy run up into the North Desert with Twix. Leg felt okay&rsquo;ish. I do enjoy running though. (Peg purple 61.75)</p> <p>Good week. Can hopefully get on top of the tendonitis and keep on moving. I look back and think about trying to train during a season. &nbsp;It was tough! &nbsp;</p> Sat, 31 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 30, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-30-2018.html <p>morning - 9.25 White Reef. Kicked off the Easter break with a team run up in the Red Cliffs area. Thought the team might like this trail and it gave me a way to figure out which trails for the Red Cliffs Traverse. Good batch of running, but that tendinitis was really flaring up and hurt a lot. Spent the rest of the day working on sprinklers - that is always a real joy. (Speedgoat 192.25)</p> Fri, 30 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 29, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-29-2018.html <p>AM - 4.5 Twix. Another tough morning waking up. Getting some tendinitis on the outside of my left ankle. Hurts a bit. Weights and abs. (Ravenna 113.25)</p> <p>afternoon - 5.5 AC. Warmed with the boys. Then did a couple hill circuits with them and then either the girls and coiled with them. First double in a while. Leg hurting. (Peg blue 619.25)</p> Thu, 29 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 28, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-28-2018.html <p>AM - 9.25 Twix/Washington. Short run with Twix after getting home late from a cold track meet in Cedar. Main run for practice in the morning because a Youth meet this afternoon. Pretty tired from the last week. Today&rsquo;s Al&rsquo;s bday and we are postponing the party because of the busy day (Scouts after all this other stuff). Abs. (Peg green 314).&nbsp;</p> Wed, 28 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 27, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-27-2018.html <p>AM - 5 Parkway. Twix ran better today than she has in the last couple weeks.&nbsp; Still cool out in the morning.&nbsp; Only got about half my lifts in today after dealing with a athlete problem.&nbsp; Then abs.&nbsp; (Peg purple 54.75)</p> Tue, 27 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 26, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-26-2018.html <p>AM - 14 Twix/River Trail. Short with the dog then early morning long run with the team. Ran with the JV boys after we started thebtempo sections and fell off the V guys. It was good to run with them. They are working hard and deserve to see some strong improvements. Abs. (Ravenna 108.75)</p> Mon, 26 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 24, 2018 http://holt.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-24-2018.html <p>AM - 4 Parkway. Actually went shortened Parkway today not yesterday. Yesterday just did the regular Twix 4 mile route. (Boston 350.75)</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 24 Mar 2018 06:00:00